Introducing Sicily (Part 2)

Revealing where I am from leads to a series of reactions, similar to those that I experience when I say where I live.

Here are some typical scenarios:

XYZ: Where are you from?

Me: Italy

To which follow:

1. Admiration

Image

Awwwww

Foreigners usually admire Italy for its art, history and beauty in general.

2. Food cravings

Image

Hmmmm pizza, pasta hmmmm

Non-Italians also love our food and speaking about it makes them hungry. I am often asked if I can cook Italian food to which follows an auto-invitation for dinner. Side note, and I know I am going to break somebody’s heart here: Fettuccine Alfredo is NOT an Italian dish, it is an American invention. Boom!

3. Hand Gestures

Image

Che cosa?

Saying that you are from Italy reminds people of the existence of their hands and makes them feel empowered (like “I know that if I shake my hands in a funny way you will understand me” Uh…sorry to disappoint you but no, you will just make me laugh :D). Sometimes these hand gestures are accompanied by a few expletives, which I guess make them feel more ‘Italian’.

4.  Football talk

Image

Forza Azzurri!

While men reminisce on the successes of our National Team or Serie A, women drool over some eye candy 🙂

5. Shame

Image

Bunga Bunga

Oh yes, thanks to B. Italy was in the international press for a while. When I was in London, I was even complimented for having such a stallion of a Prime Minister. Shame.

XYZ: Where in Italy are you from? Are you from Rome/ Venice? (the same way all French are from Paris and all Brits are from London).

Me: I am from Sicily

And here is what I get 10/10:

1. Look of fear

Image

Why?

2. The Godfather

Image

Of course my family and I must be somehow involved in some mafia business. Of course.

3. (Missed) Sexy bomb

Image

Maria Grazia Cucinotta (Sicilian Actress)

There is a myth that all Southern people are dark-skinned, with dark hair, dark eyes, curvalicious (and with very hairy bodies) Euh..sorry, not all of us  look like the sexy gyal above. We live in a global world. We are a big mix.

So here you have the first two posts of the Introducing… series. More will follow.

I must say that what surprised me the most when I first visited Trinidad were the similarities with Sicily.

So distant geographically, yet so close.

Sun, beaches, slow pace, crazy driving, yummy food (and over-feeding culture!), family love, treasured friendships, mama boys, corruption, bad politics, amazing heritage…the list goes on.

Maybe that is why I was drawn to my beau like a magnet.

Maybe that is why this place makes me feel home away from home.

One thought on “Introducing Sicily (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Introducing Sicily (Part 1) | trinitalian diaries

Join the discussion